Senior Profile–Cody F.

The class of 2020 is having an unusual final semester, to say the least. While it is no replacement for a graduation ceremony, we thought it would be nice to have a little feature for each of our graduating seniors. 

Cody F.

Today’s featured student is Cody F.

Why did you become a history major?
Throughout my life, I always found myself drawn to history. Whether it be movies/media, places like museums or cemeteries, or even classes in school, I wanted to immerse myself in historical subjects. While doing this, I discovered that I enjoyed it. It was not just a subject, but something I was eager to learn about both inside and outside the classroom. This is when I knew I was going to be a history major.

What is one book from a history class that will stick with you?
One book that will stick with me is Changes in the Land, by William Cronon. While When the King Took Flight, by Timothy Tackett, is a close second, Changes in the Land gave an interesting argument as to why the landscape of New England was a major player when it came to conflict between the Native Americans and the English Settlers. Colonial America is also my favorite era of study, so this book fit perfectly.

What is a fond memory you will have about your time as a history major?
A fond memory I will have of being a history major is the excitement the professors brought to class each day regarding the subject they were teaching. This made class far more enjoyable, and I was able to engage more because of it. I hope to bring some of the energy and passion for history into the classroom with me when I begin teaching. I also enjoyed the beginning of the year get-togethers.

Who was the most interesting or intriguing historical figure that you learned about while at Saint Anselm?
The most intriguing historical figure I learned about was Charlemagne. Prior to attending Saint A’s, Charlemagne was not covered, so learning about this historical figure who became the first undisputed ruler of Western Europe since the fall of the Western Roman Empire three centuries prior was both fascinating and gratifying.

If you could live in a time and place that you studied, what would it be?
While I would love to go back to Colonial America, I would have to pick Ancient Rome. If I had to narrow it down further, I would love to see the Pax Romana. However, getting a view of the various campaigns and wars fought would also be pretty cool!

Do you have any plans after graduation?
Plans after graduation involve finding a teaching job while also teaching myself everything there is to know about remote instruction, for after the pandemic is over education is going to look fundamentally different. That, and a whole lot of social distancing!

Leave a comment