DESHAIES TAKES ON FOOD INSECURITY AT NH HUNGER SOLUTIONS


One Thing after Another recently found out that History-English double-major Brodie Deshaies ’21 (who also earned a Philosophy minor) was recently hired as Communications and Policy Manager at NH Hunger Solutions. This blog is always interested in finding out how our majors have ended up where they have as they travel on their lifelong journeys, so it seemed only natural that OTAA ask Deshaies about his career path.


Q: When you did your last interview for this blog, you were a senior in college, and you were running for the state legislature (your campaign that year culminated in success). Now, three years later, you are the Communications and Policy Manager at NH Hunger Solutions. How did you get from Point A to Point B?

A: I was originally elected to the New Hampshire House in 2020, during my senior year at Saint Anselm College. I enjoyed my service in the state legislature, but it was emotionally taxing. I ended up having a very competitive primary that made statewide news. Governor Chris Sununu and former Congressman and current State Senate President Jeb Bradley endorsed me in that primary. I still lost.

After I lost, I decided to stop working as a contracted worker on political campaigns and find a new job. My fiancée, Grace (Class of 2022), found the position at NH Hunger Solutions on the NH Center for Nonprofits’ website. I had strong connections with NH Hunger Solutions from my work and advocacy as a State Representative to expand access to school meals for children in NH. It was a natural fit.

Q: What exactly are your responsibilities at NH Hunger Solutions? Were there significant ways in which your college experiences prepared you for the position you currently occupy?

A: I am responsible for all our communications efforts and supporting partners’ communications efforts as well. I am also responsible for managing our policy work and advocacy. Saint Anselm College prepared me for this work by improving my communication and writing skills and forcing me to think critically and objectively about problems before solving them. The education I received at Saint Anselm College made me a more well-rounded person.

Q: NH Hunger Solutions lists four priorities on the home page of its website. In what ways do you, as the communications and policy manager, help the organization attain these goals?

A: It is essential we properly frame and communicate the issue of hunger in New Hampshire. If we can’t explain why hunger is an issue in this state and convince people that they should care about hunger, then achieving our mission becomes very difficult. Once we effectively communicate and educate the public and policy makers, we must propose solutions and advocate for systems change to end hunger in New Hampshire. That systems change will help more Granite Staters access nutritious meals.

Q: You are now a library trustee for the Wolfeboro Public Library and a school board member for the Governor Wentworth Regional School District (SAU 49). How and why did you decide to serve in these capacities? Do you see these positions as somehow complementary to the work you do at NH Hunger Solutions?

A: My service as a library trustee and school board member are adjacent to my career, but not directly related. My life is very centered on public service, and I come from a family of locally elected officials. My family’s values and service influenced my decision get involved and support my community.

I am passionate about giving back to my community and volunteering in local government, whether it’s in the previously listed positions, as a ballot clerk helping run municipal elections, or attending local public hearings and participating in local community organizations like Citizens for Wolfeboro. If we sit on the sidelines, others decide how we are governed—and they don’t always make the best decisions.

My role at NH Hunger Solutions allows me to professionally support a great organization and stay involved in state-level policy making and advocacy. I can’t think of a better way to use my skills and connections than ending hunger in NH.

Q: Those of us who live in New Hampshire usually associate Wolfeboro with a) expensive lakefront properties (Mitt Romney is probably the most prominent resident) and b) the Wright Museum of World War II (which is super cool). Tell us something special or attractive about Wolfeboro that the rest of us don’t know about.

A: Wolfeboro actually has a median household income that is about 15% less than the state average. Year-round residents, who are the voters, live like any average Granite Stater.

That previous point aside, I would say there are a number of historical sites in Wolfeboro to visit. Governor John Wentworth’s summer house (1769) and the Libby Museum (1912) are two great attractions. The town docks are always a great place to enjoy an ice cream from Bailey’s Bubble or a grinder from Full Belli Deli.

Leave a comment