Agliato Lays Down the law at Upton & Hatfield

Joey Agliato

Joey Agliato ’15 (Hauppauge, NY) is a history major minoring in criminal justice. Aside from playing forward on the men’s hockey team, Joey also participates in the Team IMPACT program which has allowed ten-year-old Benjamin Roy, a cancer survivor, to be a formal part of the squad.

This semester, Joey is doing an internship at Upton & Hatfield, LLP in Concord. Here’s what he said about the experience.

Q: How did you get interested in law?

A: I have two cousins who represent different sides of the law: one is a police officer, and the other is an attorney. As I grew up, my cousin the police officer told me a number of stories about arrests and cases, and I came to see why criminals do what they do. At the same time, by listening to my cousin the attorney, I began to understand the process required to put criminals behind bars. Hearing about the various stages of criminal procedure made me realize that I wanted to pursue a career in criminal justice or law.

Q: What tasks do you perform at this internship? With what kind of law are you dealing the most at this firm?

A: At Upton & Hatfield, I summarize cases and write briefs on decisions. I take notes and research past precedents as well as laws pertaining to current open cases that my firm is handling. I also draft legal documents and letters to various clients or officials in the area. For example, I request copies of police reports of financial statements to help build a case. At the firm, I deal mostly with labor and employment law.

Q: What surprised you most about this internship? What have you learned from this experience?

A: What surprised me the most is the amount of research and preparation a lawyer does when working on a case. I was also surprised by the responsibilities I acquired through my hard work. I learned that if you care about what you are doing, ask a lot of questions, and see an assignment through to the end, your employer will be very pleased.

Q: What was the best thing about growing up in Hauppauge?

A: I got to live in close proximity to my cousins. Hauppauge is a small town with a very close-knit population which was something I really enjoyed. Everyone looks out for one another and contributes to the success of the community.

Leave a Reply

